Backyard Playsets Review
Backyard Discovery Skyfort II Review: The Standard Is Named, the Stakes Are Included, the Pounds Are Not
The Skyfort II ships more features per box than anything we cover, names ASTM F1148-22 on the page and puts the anchors in the box. What it does not print is a weight rating or a deck height. Reviewed from the listing, with the Skyfort III and a Gorilla alternative.

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the scoring method is published. How we're funded
Side by side
The picks on each side
Stock photoThe Skyfort II, reviewed
Backyard Discovery Skyfort II Swing Set
7.8 / 10F1148-22 named, stakes included, 100% cedar, 10 ft slide, monkey bars, 12-hold rock wall, lower deck; 263 x 201 x 148 in, 710 lb, 5-year warranty. No pounds, no deck height printed.
Check price on Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Backyard Discovery Skyfort II Swing Set
Stock photoAlternative: the Skyfort with a tube slide
Backyard Discovery Skyfort III Swing Set
7.8 / 10Spiral tube slide instead of monkey bars, same standard and stakes, 234 x 191 in.
Check price on Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Backyard Discovery Skyfort III Swing Set
Stock photoAlternative: the printed 800 lb structure
Gorilla Playsets Chateau Swing Set
7.6 / 104x4/4x6 cedar, 5 ft deck, recessed bolts, 10-year lumber; stakes separate.
Check price on Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Gorilla Playsets Chateau Swing Set
What the published page says
Backyard Discovery's Skyfort II page lists: a raised clubhouse with a wooden peak roof; a shaded lower deck with a sandbox area; a 10-foot wave slide; monkey bars; a 12-hold rock wall; a flat-step ladder; 2 belt swings and 1 trapeze; 100% cedar, pre-cut, pre-drilled and pre-stained; "designed with multiple play areas for up to 15 kids"; "engineered to meet or exceed ASTM standards (code F1148-22); for residential use only"; 263 in W x 201 in D x 148 in H; 709.9 lb; guided assembly through the BILT app; a note that the wood may require a sealant not included; and a 5-year warranty. Its anchoring guide states that ground stakes and anchoring instructions are included with all its swing sets.
The standard and the stakes
Naming ASTM F1148-22 is the single most useful line on a playset listing, because it is the standard CPSC's handbook points to for home playground equipment; Backyard Discovery prints it on every set, Swing-N-Slide prints ASTM and CPSIA, and Gorilla and KidKraft print no code. Including the stakes is the second most useful thing, because the handbook wants the maker's anchoring method followed and a set that arrives without hardware usually goes unanchored; Backyard Discovery publishes the method (twist the stake beside the ground board, drill, bolt through) on its site. Those two lines are 35% of our rubric and the reason the Skyfort II beats the Gorilla Chateau despite printing less structure.
The features, from the deck down
A 10 ft slide implies a deck in the 5 ft range, which under the handbook means a protective barrier at least 27 in high with openings under 3.5 in, and 9 in of loose fill beneath the whole use zone. The flat-step ladder is the easier climb for a 4-year-old; the 12-hold rock wall and monkey bars are for the 7-plus crowd. The lower deck sandbox is under the clubhouse. Belt swings on chains; Backyard Discovery does not state the chain coating on this page (it does name rope chains on the Buckley Hill and Durango). At 263 in wide the set needs roughly 34 x 38 ft with the use zone; see swing set safety zone.
What the page does not say
A weight rating in any unit. The deck height. The post and beam sizes. The chain coating. The rail height. Assembly time in hours (the BILT app replaces a printed estimate). Those are the gaps a parent should close with the manual in the box, and the reason a set with the standard named and the stakes included still scores a 5 on capacity. For the numbers, compare on swing set weight limit.
Alternatives, side by side
The brand comparisons are on Gorilla vs Backyard Discovery and KidKraft vs Backyard Discovery.
In detail
The review, and the alternatives
Stock photoThe Skyfort II, reviewed
Backyard Discovery Skyfort II Swing Set
Scored on the swing sets & playsets rubric
F1148-22 named, stakes included, 100% cedar, 10 ft slide, monkey bars, 12-hold rock wall, lower deck; 263 x 201 x 148 in, 710 lb, 5-year warranty. No pounds, no deck height printed.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Fall & pinch design (30%)
- 8
- Anchoring provision (20%)
- 9
- Rated capacity & structure (20%)
- 5
- Certification & standards (15%)
- 9
- Install reality (15%)
- 8
What it gets right
- ASTM F1148-22 named on the listing
- Ground stakes and anchoring instructions in the box
- 10-ft slide with a flat-step ladder for younger kids
What it doesn't
- No weight rating published; 'up to 15 kids' is a play-area count
- A 22 x 17 ft footprint before the 6 ft zone
- 5-year warranty is half Gorilla's lumber term
Skip it if…
…you want a stated capacity in pounds; Gorilla and Swing-N-Slide publish theirs.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Backyard Discovery Skyfort II Swing Set
Stock photoAlternative: the Skyfort with a tube slide
Backyard Discovery Skyfort III Swing Set
Scored on the swing sets & playsets rubric
Spiral tube slide instead of monkey bars, same standard and stakes, 234 x 191 in.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Fall & pinch design (30%)
- 8
- Anchoring provision (20%)
- 9
- Rated capacity & structure (20%)
- 5
- Certification & standards (15%)
- 9
- Install reality (15%)
- 8
What it gets right
- Two slides, including an enclosed tube
- Stakes in the box
- ASTM F1148-22 named
What it doesn't
- No weight rating
- Large footprint
- Tube slides get hot; Backyard Discovery does not state the slide orientation
Skip it if…
…you want monkey bars; that is the Skyfort II.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Backyard Discovery Skyfort III Swing Set
Stock photoAlternative: the printed 800 lb structure
Gorilla Playsets Chateau Swing Set
Scored on the swing sets & playsets rubric
4x4/4x6 cedar, 5 ft deck, recessed bolts, 10-year lumber; stakes separate.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Fall & pinch design (30%)
- 9
- Anchoring provision (20%)
- 6
- Rated capacity & structure (20%)
- 8
- Certification & standards (15%)
- 5
- Install reality (15%)
- 9
What it gets right
- 800 lb total capacity published, which almost no wooden set states
- 4x4 posts and a 4x6 beam
- Coated chains and recessed bolts
What it doesn't
- Ground stakes are sold separately
- 725 lb of cedar to move and 6-8 hours to build
- No per-swing rating, only the total
Skip it if…
…you need the anchors in the box; budget for Gorilla's ground stakes.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Gorilla Playsets Chateau Swing Set
How we picked
Scored on paper, and we say so
Most review sites say they tested everything. We didn't test these, and we say so. Every pick is scored from the maker's published specs, manual and warranty terms on a safety rubric we publish (net and edge design, anchoring, rated capacity, standards, install reality), and the sources are listed at the bottom of the page.
Scores are editorial judgments from that published information, not field or lab results. Nobody pays for placement, and an unpublished spec is never guessed upward. See every rubric and weight.
Swing sets & playsets rubric
- Fall & pinch design
- 30%
- Anchoring provision
- 20%
- Rated capacity & structure
- 20%
- Certification & standards
- 15%
- Install reality
- 15%
FAQ
Questions parents ask
Is the Backyard Discovery Skyfort II worth it?
What is the Skyfort II weight limit?
How big is the Skyfort II?
Does the Skyfort II come with anchors?
Skyfort II or Skyfort III?
Related
Keep reading
Update log
What changed
- First published.
Receipts
Sources
- 1.Backyard Discovery: Skyfort II Swing Set product page (checked Sep 22, 2026)
- 2.Backyard Discovery: Skyfort III Swing Set product page (checked Sep 22, 2026)
- 3.Backyard Discovery: How to Secure a Swing Set to the Ground (checked Sep 22, 2026)
- 4.CPSC Publication 324, Outdoor Home Playground Safety Handbook (PDF; fetched Sep 22, 2026)
- 5.Gorilla Playsets: Chateau specifications (checked Sep 22, 2026)
We don't lab-test trampolines, swing sets or their parts, and we don't pretend to. Capacities, materials, anchoring provisions and warranty terms come from the maker's own listings and manuals (or a named retailer's listing where the maker doesn't publish them). Safety guidance is linked to CPSC, the AAP, ASTM or the study it came from. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.