Install & Anchoring Best picks
Best Playground Mulch and Surfacing for Swing Sets (2026): Rated Depth, Not Just Softness
CPSC's handbook wants 9 inches of loose fill under equipment up to 8 ft, and never over concrete. Two IPEMA-certified rubber mulches with published depth-to-fall-height charts, a rubber tile with a printed 4 ft rating, and a wear mat, ranked on what they publish.

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the scoring method is published. How we're funded
Quick picks
The short answer
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Playsafer Rubber Mulch IPEMA certified, ASTM F1292/F1951/F3012 named, a printed depth chart (6 in for a 12 ft fall height), 1.55 cu ft per 40 lb bag, 99.9% wire free, 12-year warranty. | Best playground surfacing | 9.3 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() GroundSmart Playground Rubber Mulch IPEMA and ASTM F1292-19/F3012/F3351; the table gives filled and compacted depths per fall height; 12-year color warranty. | Best with a compaction-aware depth table | 8.9 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() PlayFall Playground Safety Tiles 2 x 2 ft, 1.75 in (5-pack) 1.75 in tiles rated for a 4 ft fall height, 20 sq ft per pack; for low decks and small sets, not a 5 ft tower. | Best rubber tile with a printed rating | 7.4 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() KidWise 1.5 in Fanny Pads Rubber Safety Mat (2-Pack) 38 x 23 x 1.5 in recycled rubber mats for the crater under each seat and the slide exit; a wear mat, not a use-zone surface. | Best wear mat for under the swings | 5.6 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from published specs, manuals and warranty terms on a rubric we publish, not from field tests. Photos are stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.
The rule: 9 inches, 6 feet, never concrete
From CPSC's Outdoor Home Playground Safety Handbook: "Maintain a minimum depth of 9 inches of loose-fill materials such as wood mulch/chips, engineered wood fiber (EWF), or shredded/recycled rubber mulch for equipment up to 8 feet high; and 9 inches of sand or pea gravel for equipment up to 5 feet high. NOTE: An initial fill level of 12 inches will compress to about a 9-inch depth of surfacing over time." Six inches is the minimum only for equipment under 4 ft. Surfacing extends 6 ft in all directions, and twice the top-bar height in front of and behind swings. "Do not install loose fill surfacing over hard surfaces such as concrete or asphalt." "Grass and dirt are not considered protective surfacing." "Carpeting and thin mats are generally not adequate protective surfacing." Rubber tiles and poured surfaces "generally require a professional" and need an ASTM F1292 report showing the fall height they protect.
How we scored these
The surfacing rubric (how we rate): impact attenuation 30% (a published fall-height rating or ASTM F1292 claim at a stated depth), coverage and depth 20%, material and safety claims 20%, certification 15%, install reality 15%. The two rubber mulches score highest because both are IPEMA certified, name ASTM F1292 and print a depth-to-fall-height chart. The PlayFall tile scores on its printed 4 ft rating and is capped by it. The Fanny Pad scores low on impact because it is a wear mat, and we say so on the card rather than hide it.
Material by material
Rubber mulch. Does not decompose (GroundSmart's point), and both makers rate 6 in for a 12 ft fall height, well above the handbook's 9 in rule for 8 ft equipment; Playsafer prints 3 in for 5 ft, which is below the handbook's minimum for anything with a deck, so use CPSC's depth, not the chart's residential line. It is hot in sun and needs a border. Playsafer prints 99.9% wire free; GroundSmart does not state wire content on its page. Wood mulch and engineered wood fiber. The handbook's other loose fills; they decompose and need topping up. We have not scored a wood product at launch. Rubber tiles. PlayFall's 1.75 in tile is rated to 4 ft: right for a 3-4 ft deck or a small swing set, wrong under a 5 ft Gorilla deck or monkey bars. Wear mats. Fanny Pads stop the crater under each swing so the loose fill stays at depth; they sit on top of the mulch, not instead of it.
The bag math
Playsafer prints 1.55 cu ft per 40 lb bag and 77 cu ft per 2,000 lb pallet. The handbook's 12 in initial fill over a 20 x 24 ft use zone is 480 cu ft: about 310 bags, or six pallets. Over a 30 x 30 ft zone for a big set it is 900 cu ft. Both makers publish a coverage calculator; use it with the handbook's 12 in, not the 3-6 in landscaping depths the same calculators offer. Loose fill also needs containment: the handbook says to dig out the perimeter or line it with edging, and to mark the correct level on the support posts so you can see when to top up. Which set the zone is for: swing set safety zone.
Who should skip all of these
Owners of a ground-level playhouse or sandbox with no elevated play surface, which the handbook exempts. Anyone planning to lay loose fill on a slab, which the handbook forbids; see swing set on concrete. And anyone expecting a wear mat to do the job of 9 in of mulch.
In detail
Every pick, in full
1
Stock photoBest playground surfacing
Playsafer Rubber Mulch
Scored on the playground surfacing rubric
IPEMA certified, ASTM F1292/F1951/F3012 named, a printed depth chart (6 in for a 12 ft fall height), 1.55 cu ft per 40 lb bag, 99.9% wire free, 12-year warranty.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Impact attenuation (30%)
- 10
- Coverage & depth (20%)
- 9
- Material & safety claims (20%)
- 9
- Certification & standards (15%)
- 10
- Install reality (15%)
- 8
What it gets right
- Coverage per bag published, so you can do the math
- Wire-free claim stated
- IPEMA and three ASTM designations named
What it doesn't
- Playsafer's 3 in residential depth is below CPSC's 9 in loose-fill guidance for 8 ft equipment
- Hot in sun
- Needs a border
Skip it if…
…you plan to spread 3 in and call it done; the CPSC depth for a swing set is 9 in.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Playsafer Rubber Mulch
2
Stock photoBest with a compaction-aware depth table
GroundSmart Playground Rubber Mulch
Scored on the playground surfacing rubric
IPEMA and ASTM F1292-19/F3012/F3351; the table gives filled and compacted depths per fall height; 12-year color warranty.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Impact attenuation (30%)
- 10
- Coverage & depth (20%)
- 8
- Material & safety claims (20%)
- 8
- Certification & standards (15%)
- 10
- Install reality (15%)
- 8
What it gets right
- Named ASTM standards and IPEMA certification
- Depth-to-fall-height table published
- Does not decompose like wood mulch
What it doesn't
- Rubber mulch gets hot in full sun
- Bag counts add up: CPSC wants 9 in over the whole use zone
- Wire-free claim is not stated on this page
Skip it if…
…you are surfacing a site with no containment; loose fill migrates without an edge.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to GroundSmart Playground Rubber Mulch
3
Stock photoBest rubber tile with a printed rating
PlayFall Playground Safety Tiles 2 x 2 ft, 1.75 in (5-pack)
Scored on the playground surfacing rubric
1.75 in tiles rated for a 4 ft fall height, 20 sq ft per pack; for low decks and small sets, not a 5 ft tower.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Impact attenuation (30%)
- 7
- Coverage & depth (20%)
- 8
- Material & safety claims (20%)
- 8
- Certification & standards (15%)
- 7
- Install reality (15%)
- 7
What it gets right
- Fall-height rating actually printed
- No migration, no topping up
- Drains
What it doesn't
- 4 ft rating is below most swing beams and 5 ft decks
- Cost per sq ft is far above mulch
- Pins only; adhesive extra
Skip it if…
…your deck or swing beam is over 4 ft; you need thicker tiles or 9 in of loose fill.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to PlayFall Playground Safety Tiles 2 x 2 ft, 1.75 in (5-pack)
4
Stock photoBest wear mat for under the swings
KidWise 1.5 in Fanny Pads Rubber Safety Mat (2-Pack)
Scored on the playground surfacing rubric
38 x 23 x 1.5 in recycled rubber mats for the crater under each seat and the slide exit; a wear mat, not a use-zone surface.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Impact attenuation (30%)
- 4
- Coverage & depth (20%)
- 5
- Material & safety claims (20%)
- 8
- Certification & standards (15%)
- 3
- Install reality (15%)
- 9
What it gets right
- Stops the crater under each swing
- Lead and phthalate testing stated
- Two mats per pack
What it doesn't
- No ASTM F1292 fall-height rating published
- 1.5 in is a wear mat, not a use-zone surface
- Must sit on top of proper loose fill or tiles
Skip it if…
…you think a mat replaces 9 in of mulch; CPSC says thin mats are not adequate surfacing.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to KidWise 1.5 in Fanny Pads Rubber Safety Mat (2-Pack)
How we picked
Scored on paper, and we say so
Most review sites say they tested everything. We didn't test these, and we say so. Every pick is scored from the maker's published specs, manual and warranty terms on a safety rubric we publish (net and edge design, anchoring, rated capacity, standards, install reality), and the sources are listed at the bottom of the page.
Scores are editorial judgments from that published information, not field or lab results. Nobody pays for placement, and an unpublished spec is never guessed upward. See every rubric and weight.
Playground surfacing rubric
- Impact attenuation
- 30%
- Coverage & depth
- 20%
- Material & safety claims
- 20%
- Certification & standards
- 15%
- Install reality
- 15%
FAQ
Questions parents ask
How deep should playground mulch be?
Is rubber mulch safe for playgrounds?
Is rubber mulch or wood mulch better under a swing set?
How much rubber mulch do I need?
Can I put a swing set on grass?
Related
Keep reading
Update log
What changed
- First published.
Receipts
Sources
- 1.CPSC Publication 324, Outdoor Home Playground Safety Handbook (PDF; fetched Sep 22, 2026)
- 2.Playsafer: rubber mulch depth and fall-height chart (checked Sep 22, 2026)
- 3.GroundSmart: Playground Rubber Mulch depth and fall-height table (checked Sep 22, 2026)
- 4.KidWise: PlayFall Playground Safety Tiles, 5-pack (checked Sep 22, 2026)
- 5.KidWise: 1.5 inch Fanny Pads Rubber Safety Mat (checked Sep 22, 2026)
We don't lab-test trampolines, swing sets or their parts, and we don't pretend to. Capacities, materials, anchoring provisions and warranty terms come from the maker's own listings and manuals (or a named retailer's listing where the maker doesn't publish them). Safety guidance is linked to CPSC, the AAP, ASTM or the study it came from. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.